Recipe – Broiled and Stuffed Beefsteak Tomatoes

February 17, 2009 at 10:31 am 1 comment

Last night, I didn’t make anything particularly exciting for dinner, but wanted to do something different for a side dish. More often than not, I often just wing it with my side dishes, using whatever I happen to have in the pantry or the fridge. One of the skills I’m trying hard to develop is pairing sides with meals properly and coming up with things that are different than sauteed veggies or the common side salad. So, when I found a recipe for “Blue Cheese Crusted Tomatoes” on Epicurious, I decided to modify it to something that sounded more interesting to me and came up with these Broiled and Stuffed Beefsteak Tomatoes (the stuffing is Danish Blue Cheese, Seasoned Bread Crumbs and Minced Garlic).

Broiled Stuffed Tomatoes

First of all, deepest apologies for the blurry photo of the finished product. I’m think my camera may have not been properly set on my manual macro settings and I got camera shake. Unfortunately, wifey and I had already eaten said tomatoes before I noticed the error. Rest assured, they look fairly appetizing upon exit from your oven. We had these guys with grilled spinach and feta chicken sausages and side salads. The creamy Danish Blue Cheese melted nicely with the breadcrumbs and the beefsteaks held up nicely to the broiling process. I always think I’ve found a winner when my wife says, “I’d order this in a restaurant.” Those words make for one happy would-be chef.

Beefsteak Tomatoes and Danish Bleu Cheese

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium/large beefsteak tomatoes (buy them the day of to make sure you can get some reasonably firm specimens. If they’re too ripe, they’ll turn out stewed)
  • 1/4 cup of dry breadcrumbs
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 1.5 to 2 ounces of Danish Blue Cheese
  • 1 and 1/2 tablespoons dried oregano
  • 1 tablespoon dried basil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Preparation:
1. Pre-heat your oven using your broiler setting. Low is fine, but if your oven forces a temperature on you, shoot for 350 to 400 tops.

2. Cut the top 1/4 of the tomatoes off. Use a pairing knife cut out a good portion of the ribs and seeds from the tomatoes and scoop them out with a spoon. Be sure to leave some of the seeds and juices so the breadcrumbs and cheese have some of those great tomato flavors to merry.

Beefsteak Tomatoes

3. Mix breadcrumbs, herbs and olive oil in small bowl, mashing to coat. Sprinkle tomatoes with salt and pepper and place in a small roasting pan.

4. Top each with 1 or 2 tablespoons of blue cheese and top it off with as much of the breadcrumb mixture as you’d like.

5. Toss it under your broiler and and cook tomatoes until slightly soft and cheese melts. Mine took about 10 to 11 minutes. Just be sure to check on them to be sure they don’t get too soft.

Tomorrow, I’ll talk about some of my new breakfast experiments, as I’ve found a chicken and turkey Chorizo that Vita can eat. That means breakfast burritos y’all.

Entry filed under: Our Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

Recipe – Grilled Chicken with Feta Cheese Sauce Recipe – Chorizo and Egg Breakfast Burrito

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. discoverunearthed  |  February 17, 2009 at 10:38 am

    Tomatoes look great. Well, they sound great anyway! I always end end with straight roasted veg on the side too. Or sugarsnap peas – I can’t get enough of those snappy green fellas.

    Chicken and Turkey chorizo?? Intriguing. One for the favourite sausage nominations being collated at http://www.discoverunearthed.wordpress.com ?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

On the Table


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

