Once upon a time…

August 5, 2008 at 2:36 pm 2 comments

… there was a boy.

He was athletic, clever and sensitive. The boy enjoyed writing, fishing, playing outside and generally didn’t get himself into too much trouble.

The boy’s mother spent a great deal of time with him – teaching, nourishing and providing a very stable upbringing. The boy shared his dreams with his mother, often over tea, animal crackers and the smell of that night’s dinner cooking in the kitchen. It was in these early days a seed was planted deep within the boy’s heart. That seed blossomed and grew into a love for home cooking. And from the love for home cooking grew appreciation for fine food, fast food and the process of creating it.

The boy always held this passion for food and contemplated becoming a chef. But somewhere along his journey though life, the boy became a writer instead of a chef. That boy – now a man late in his 20s – is again yearning to cook, create and share. This is a newly planted seed; a seed planted out of desperation to recapture the passion the boy felt so many years ago. Come along for the journey, and feel free to share your thoughts with me.

d.e.

Entry filed under: Growing Up. Tags: .

Restaurant Review – Piccirilli Ristorante

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle Minor  |  August 9, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    Wow oh wow…had I known this about you during the short time we worked together at Crain, we could have had some great food discussions. My great aunt and uncle owned an Italian restaurant (Mr. Scarp’s, short for Scarpello) in New York, where I was born and partially raised. Since my sisters were quite a bit older than me and off doing teenage girly stuff, I hung out with my aunties at Mr. Scarp’s when visiting and learned first hand from them how to cook Italian. The other half of my ethnicity is Polish, so when I wasn’t learning from Auntie Rosa and Auntie Josephina, I was cooking with my Polish grandmama. I’ve often thought of opening a half Italian/half Polish restaurant. What do you think? When I was in Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri during my defense career days, I ate at a similar “mixed cuisine” restaurant…half German and half French. It was incredible and quite a success according to the proprieterers, a husband and wife team – he from German roots and she from France.

    Reply
  • 2. Thelma Spence  |  November 12, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    3up5fv4az0t2xguh

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

