Recipe – Three Cheese Fondue

August 6, 2008 at 2:50 am 1 comment

Even though I didn’t leave work until after 6:30 p.m. today, I had a meal plan in my head. On my hour long drive, I was dreaming of Mozzarella Caprese and some of my spinach asiago chicken sausages awaiting me in the freezer.

When I arrived at home, the unstoppable force in my life (my wife) had other ideas. So, we cooked what has fast become a family favorite in our house, our Three Cheese Fondue. I came up with my own version of a Swiss blend shortly after we received a fondue pot made by Rival for a wedding present. The pot has quickly become one of the most used items in the kitchen and it frequently makes this dish for us.

Here’s how we make it.

Ingredients (serves 4-6, wing it to your tastes or adjust accordingly)

  • 1/2 pound Gruyere
  • 1/2 pound Butterkase
  • 2-4oz. Danish Blue Cheese (adjust accordingly. This is a very strong cheese. If you like it more tart, go 3 to 4 ozs.)
  • One clove of garlic
  • Two green onions
  • 1tsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper to Taste
  • 3oz. Beer (Your choice, but I prefer craft brew, Stouts and Pale Ales work best I find)
  • Granny Smith Apples
  • Half loaf of Sourdough
  • Green Globe Grapes
  • Celery
  • Broccoli
  • Cauliflower
  • Baby Carrots

Cooking
1. Slice and chop clove of garlic.
2. Add Olive Oil to bottom of fondue pot, toss in garlic, salt and pepper. Heat garlic until simmering, and reduce fondue pot to “warm” setting.
3. Shred cheeses and add to pot with 3 oz. beer.
4. Heat cheeses over low to medium heat (225 – 255) until cheese melt completely and most of the beer is cooked off. Note: If some beer remains or you’ve added too much beer for the amount of cheese you have, add a little flour. You won’t taste it and you’ll take up some of the excess liquid.
5. Add green onion and reduce heat.
6. Chop vegetables, bread and fruits and place into bowls.
7. Serve with your favorite wine and fondue forks.

Love this recipe, and while I missed the sausages, this was a great substitute, albeit not great for my current diet (South Beach). More on that tomorrow

Entry filed under: Our Recipes. Tags: , , .

Restaurant Review – Piccirilli Ristorante This morning’s coffee

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tony Francetic  |  August 7, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Sounds good buddy … I’ll have to give it a try. I have a recipe for you as well. I kind of morphed it from my mom’s recipe, but a quick, easy, fairly healthy meal from the Mexican perspective.

    Fran’s Mexican Bake

    2 Cans of Rotel Tomatoes (diced tomatoes with green chiles)
    1 Large can of black beans
    Rice (Portion can be changed, but I usually cook 2 cups)
    1 Can Mexican Style Corn (drained)
    1 Package Ground Beef (or chicken)
    1 Packet of Taco Seasoning
    1 Large Package of Mexican Style Cheese

    Cook the ground beef or chicken, and season with taco seasoning. Drain.
    Cook the rice, and spread 1/2 the rice along the bottom of a glass baking pan.
    Layer the corn, black beans and tomatoes throughout, making sure to leave enough for the second layer.
    Top with the Mexican cheese and bake at 350 degrees for 30-45 min.

    I like the cheese to get crispy on top, but it tastes just as good with gooey cheese. Got a good amount of spicy kick to it because of the Rotel tomatoes.

    Even better re-heated!! Enjoy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

