Recipe – Steak Salad with Balsamic Reduction

August 14, 2008 at 11:08 pm 1 comment

Today I got home from work fairly late. No wife, just a crazy brown dog and a tummy craving something fresh. I’ve been a little under the weather the past few days as well. So, needless to say, I didn’t want anything too heavy due to my aching stomach and frequent cough and due to arriving home so late, I didn’t want to spend a great deal of time in the kitchen. Thankfully, I had skirt steak, a lovely organic salad mix and some fresh organic tomatoes.

So, instead of laboring with pasta, or a long grilling process, I opted to go for a steak salad with a delicious balsamic reduction. Here’s the recipe I came up with.

Ingredients

  • 6 oz skirt steak (cut thinly into strips)
  • 2 cups organic baby greens
  • 1 organic tomato cut into wedges
  • 1/8 cup of Danish Blue Cheese
  • 1/4 cup Balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon vegtable oil
  • 1 tablespoon whole black peppercorns
  • 1 tablespoon Kosher salt
  • 1 tablespoon dried basil
  • 1 tablespoon butter (preferably unsalted, if salted, omit Kosher salt mentioned above)

Preparation
Coarsely grind peppercorns and basil with a mortar and pestle. Coat both sides of the skirt strips dry and coat with peppercorns, pressing to adhere. Season with salt.

Heat oil with 1 tablespoon butter in a heavy skillet or non stick pan over moderately high heat until hot but not smoking. Reduce heat to moderate and cook steaks to preferred temperature. I go about 1 to 1 and a half minutes on each side for medium-rare. (Admittedly, I got away from my pan for a minute prepping my plate and my meat came out medium well as you can see from the photos)

Transfer steak to a platter. Add balsamic vinegar to skillet and deglaze by boiling over high heat, scraping up brown bits. Simmer vinegar until reduced to about 1/8 cup. Remove from heat and whisk in remaining tablespoon butter until melted. Season sauce with salt and drizzle over salad once prepared.

To prep the salad itself, I simply wash and toss the greens, crumble my blue cheese and slice a small tomato into wedges. I salt and pepper my tomatoes and ring them around my greens. Add the steak and drizzle your balsamic reduction over everything. What you’re left with is a really flavorful, yet light meal that you’ll want to make again and again. The bold flavors of the Danish Blue Cheese are complimented by the reduction and the tomatoes make a lovely accompaniment. Happy cooking.

Entry filed under: Our Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

Recipe – Mediterranean pizza Recipe – Green Chile Colorado

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Susie Shaw  |  November 12, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    v63hsw3jx382yx2p

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

