Recipe – Portobello Bruschetta Burgers

August 28, 2008 at 10:29 am 6 comments

As I mentioned yesterday, I’m pining for end of summer and all her bombs of flavor. So, as I wrote yesterday’s post I was already racking my brain as to what to prepare for dinner (Vita and I didn’t quite have the time to meal plan this week due to an office reorganization project that took precedent).

I wanted to make something for my wife that would tickle all the vegetarian atoms left floating around in her body, while playing off my current passion for summer tomatoes. So, with my brain now fully fixed on mushrooms, tomatoes and fresh bread, I was off to Randazzo’s Fresh Market on my lunch break to pick up the freshly baked Kaiser rolls to make Portobello Bruschetta Burgers.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Kaiser Rolls
  • 4 medium to large Portobello Mushroom Caps
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1 tablespoon dried basil
  • 1 tablespoon dried rosemary
  • 2 tablespoons kosher salt
  • 1 tablespoon black peppercorns
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup of Bruschetta (I usually use this recipe, but used pre-made in these photos)
  • 4 slices of fresh Buffalo Mozzarella

Preparation:
1. Using a pestle and mortar grind salt, peppercorns, oregano, rosemary and basil together until peppercorns are thoroughly broken up. Once you’ve done this, transfer your herbs and spices to a small bowl and mix in the extra virgin olive oil to create a spice paste.

2. Do NOT rinse the mushrooms. Just brush off any of the excess dirt to preserve the flavor of the caps. Then remove the stems using a pairing knife and the gills from the underside of the caps using a spoon. This will create a better surface area for your Bruschetta filling when you hit the grill.

3. Rub both sides of the mushrooms with the herb mixture, giving each a generous coating of the mixture. The provided amounts should be good for four mushrooms.

4. Place the mushrooms on a pre-heated grill. Be sure you place STEM SIDE DOWN first. You’ll flip only once, and you want the side you removed the gills from to cook first so that you can spoon on Bruschetta to warm as you cook the other side. Cook the stem side for about 4 minutes then flip.

5. After flipping your Portobellos, spoon Bruschetta into your caps, cook for an additional four minutes. Remove from grill and place it on your bun.

6. I like to add fresh mozzarella to the top, but it’s up to you. I think it adds a creamy flavor to the tart Bruschetta and compliments the bold flavor of Portobello in a really great way with all the Italian Herbs.

Don’t they look amazing? I was treated to a double delight last night… a beautiful sunset (I love shooting during the “golden hour” in the evening!) and these powerful little flavor bombs. You can be a true carnivore through-and-through, but I’d be willing to bet even the most die-hard tyrannosauruses would enjoy this burger. I think fresh bread is key, especially a bigger roll like a Kaiser. It’s large enough to hold all the fixins in it, and it soaks up all the Bruschetta goodness.

Enjoy!

Entry filed under: Our Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Recipe – Tomato, Bean and Mozzarella Salad Preview – Food at the Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jen of a2eatwrite  |  August 28, 2008 at 10:54 am

    These look completely amazing. I love portabello burgers! Oh, the joys of summer…

    Reply
  • 2. alpinebluesky  |  August 28, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    Gorgeous photos! I am going to try this!

    Reply
  • 3. sansan  |  August 31, 2008 at 1:37 am

    Hi Dan, love your wedlog. nice. i am gonna put you in my blogroll. hope you are ok with it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 4. Daniel Eizans  |  September 2, 2008 at 9:52 am

    Hi SanSan. Feel feel free to add me to your blogroll. Would love to check yours out as well. Post the URL in a comment. Thanks for reading.

    Jen: They’re amazingly light and really great for a full meal.

    Reply
  • 5. sansan  |  September 2, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    Hi Dan, mine will be mixture of everything, not as pro as you.. also, it’s a dual langguage weblog. mostly in english, some in chinese. haha.. anyway, you can check it out. ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://baobaosimplelife.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 6. Trisha  |  September 6, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    So I have a portobello cap hanging out in the fridge I was planning on doing something with tonight, and lo and behold, here you are with a tasty-looking twist on my usual. (Don’t you just hate it when all-important meal planning gets sidelined? I know I do…)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

