Recipe – Antipasto Sandwich

September 8, 2008 at 10:20 pm Leave a comment

This morning, I was really hungry as I was rushing out the door. And since I had leftover Kaiser Rolls from Greek Buffalo Burgers, I opted to make something that would satisfy my hunger pang that was portable and required no cooking – An Antipasto Sandwich.

I already know what you’re thinking … Antipasto? For Breakfast? I’ve said before that I’m secretly Canadian, but I think my love for cured meats and non-traditional breakfast foods makes me so much more Europian, Mexican or Jamaican. When Vita and I were honeymooning, I made this breakfast sandwhich nearly every morning.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Whole Wheat Kaiser Roll
  • 5-6 slices hard Genoa Salami
  • 5 Cherry Tomatoes Cut into thirds (Romas are great as well, just use 1)
  • 2 Slices Fresh Buffalo Mozzarella
  • Two spoonfulls of Marinated Vegetables (you can find these at most gourmet or specialty markets, just get the Italian blend with the Cauliflower, Carrots, Peppers, and olives – spicy!)
  • 1 Teaspoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper to Taste

Construction:
1. Cut your Kaiser Roll in half and lay down your Genoa as a base, then add the tomatoes, mozzarella and the vegetables.
2. Salt and pepper the Mozzarella lightly and drizzle olive oil across the top of your sandwich filling
3. Wrap it up in a paper towel and run, because if you’re as late as I was this morning, you were eating on the road!

In all seriousness, this is great anytime. I personally enjoy the saltiness of the Genoa (which isn’t all that far off from the smoky flavors of bacon or other smoky meats) as it mingles with the fresh mozzarella. Olive oil is good anytime, and the marinated vegetables really scream Antipasto and give the whole sandwich a nice back heat. You definitely won’t need mustard for this baby.

This would also be great with a nice Chianti or a strong Merlot for an afternoon snack or brunch because it really packs a punch.

Entry filed under: Our Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Recipe – Greek Buffalo Burgers Recipe – Four Cheese Spinach Ravioli in Seasoned Olive Oil

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

