Let’s talk olives and obsessions

September 11, 2008 at 10:24 am 5 comments

If you’re a semi-regular reader of my blog, you no doubt have figured out that olives are truly my favorite ingredient. They’re my guilty pleasure, and something I’d sorely miss if I didn’t have access to them.

According to Greek mythology the Olive tree was Athena’s gift to the people of Attica and it won her patronage of the city of Athens over Poseidon. And if it was, thanks be to Athena – because in my opinion, there is no more perfect food. I love the texture, the complexity, its versatility in a variety of cooking and packing styles, its saltiness, the variety of colors and its ability to totally transform a bland dish into a powerhouse of flavor.

My favorite kinds of Olives are Greek or or the young Italian variety. I find olives grown, cultivated and fermented in these climates to be the most flavorful and that they offer the best consistency for cooking in pastas and eating with antipasto.

I value Kalamata Olives for their saltiness and frequently add them to spicy pastas in lieu of salt or anchovy paste. I also tend to pop small handfuls into my mouth when i pass by the refrigerator (don’t tell Vita!).

Since Vita and I have been talking about one last really great trip before she starts her surgical residency, we’re leaning heavily towards Greece. I think with the availability of fantastic bread, tangy feta cheese, olives and a Mediterranean breeze, I may never come home.

So, with all those thoughts of olives and Greece running through my brain this morning, I made a very simple Greek salad for lunch. I won’t bother posting the recipe, as I’m sure my version is nothing to write home about. But I am curious my dear readers… what food items do you go absolutely crazy for? I plan on compiling some of your thoughts and doing a post at the beginning of October “foodie triggers,” which I’ll explain later. If you want to be included, post a comment and I’ll follow up with you through your blogs or e-mail and give you four or five quick interview questions. They’ll be painless and fun – I promise!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Recipe – Baked Italian Orange Roughy Restaurant Review – Taqueria Lupitas

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jo  |  September 11, 2008 at 10:56 am

    Hey Dan… I love olives too 🙂 Nice blog you’ve got here… mind if I link to you?

    I just got your comment on my asparagus post and I’d love to be a part of your “foodie triggers” post. You have my email here on this comment, I look forward to working with you!

    Have a great day!

    Reply
  • 2. Not Thinking Helps you Eat Less « Still Good News.com  |  September 11, 2008 at 10:56 am

    […] Best snack ever – OLIVES – read about them at this salty-sweet food blog – The Would-Be CHef.Com […]

    Reply
  • 3. Daniel Eizans  |  September 11, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Jo. Absolutely feel free to link to me. We’re friend’s on Food Buzz as well. Just wanted to reach out to my buddies there first.

    Reply
  • 4. purpley  |  September 11, 2008 at 11:01 am

    I Love OLIVES too! Right now, I’m in the southern part of France and the olives have a softer deeper taste and are often-girl-scout green.

    GOtta say though – Have you ever tried Triscuts – the flavored kind? Best snack ever! (besides olives)

    Reply
  • 5. Vita Randazzo-Eizans  |  September 13, 2008 at 8:28 am

    CHOCOLATE! Always, forever my weakness. Not in it’s pure form, as you’re constantly directing me to the freezer for a bit of Hershey bar stolen from the smore’s stash, but in any other mixture – cookies, brownies, sundaes, drizzled on fruit…mmmm. I wish I weren’t obsessed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

