Restaurant Review – Taqueria Lupitas

September 12, 2008 at 10:00 am 2 comments

Yesterday I had to pass through Detroit and, as I often do when I return to the slumbering giant of a city, and wandered into Taqueria Lupitas.

Lupitas was one of my most frequent lunch stops when I worked in the city and offers arguably the most authentic Mexican food in all of Mexicantown. I would have happily gone in simply for the smells, but when I saw one of the chefs throwing a fresh batch of Cabeza on the grill, I immediately ordered two Tacos de Cabaza (beef head) and one Taco al Lengua (beef tounge).

Each was served in the traditional style with Onion and Cilantro. Cheese is 50 cents extra, but trust me, you don’t need it. The both tacos are incredibly well seasoned, and if you’ve never tried, true authentic Mexican tacos, you’re really missing out. This is the way Tacos were meant to be served, not loaded up with cheese and lettuce, ala Taco Bell.

Places like Taqueria Lupitas are one of the reasons I truly miss working downtown day in and day out. Their service is amazing. You’ll hear more Spanish than English, and you’ll always find the die hard foodies in this restaurant before you’ll ever see them in one of the more touristy joints you can easily find in Mexicantown.

It’s clean, super fast and the staff are among the most patient and knowledgeable in the city. Lupitas is bar none the best Mexican you can get in Detroit. And I’ve tried em all. Believe me. For tacos like the ones I purchased, you’ll average $1.50 to $2.50 depending on what meat you get. I always walk out paying under $10 and I can pack the food away.

Complimentary chips and a platter of different salsas and guacamoles are always there for your pleasure as well. My other favorites in this lovely little gem are the marinated cactus, the Menudo and the Chile Colorado. It’s all phenomenal.

I know this isn’t as in depth as all my other reviews, but if I wrote more, I’d be gushing. If you’re anywhere near Detroit and you have any passion for authentic Mexican, get your butt down there.

Five out of Five Stars

Neighborhood: Mexicantown
3443 Bagley St
Detroit, MI 48216
(313) 843-1105

Entry filed under: Reviews. Tags: , , , , .

Let’s talk olives and obsessions Recipe – Wingless Buffalo Bleu Pizza

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jo  |  September 12, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Mmmm menudo… goodness how I love that stuff 🙂 *real* Mexican… the ONLY way to have it. I’m jealous 😉

    Reply
  • 2. jen of a2eatwrite  |  September 13, 2008 at 8:57 am

    I’m going to have to try it… I really miss good Mexican and I don’t make it into Detroit often enough.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

