Changes on the horizon

January 20, 2009 at 9:00 pm 4 comments

There are a lot of things changing for me this year. I’m married, unusually busy at work and am committing myself to a new diet. What, what? Yep, Vita and I have committed ourselves to a VERY limited carbohydrate consumption and low carb options whenever possible. We’re also making a big, big effort to go gluten free.

I’ll add a personal note here and say that I’ve battled terrible stomach aches and lower gastrointestinal problems for years. I’ve been tested for everything under the sun and no one has been able to give me answers for what ailed me. Despite a negative test for Celiac Disease, I’m fairly confident that I have a gluten allergy or sensitivity. When I went on the South Beach diet many months back, my problems had all but disappeared. So, my wife and I have made the commitment to giving gluten free living a go. For me, this will be especially difficult, since I’m a huge fan of bread, etc. I’m not saying I’ll never have gluten again, but we’re giving it our absolute best to make some healthy changes.

This will obviously affect some of the recipes you’ll see here on Diary of a Would-Be Chef. But I can say, that it will also renew my dedication to posting. I’ll have a weekly soup recipe and a weekly menu each Sunday night. Then you can expect at least three posts a week featuring food from the menu. With a gluten free diet, you can expect many new recipes. I’m making a special effort to be sure that the recipes are fresh and different. If we’re going gluten free, I’m going to become the best damn gluten free chef out there.

So, stick with me, I promise to be honest about everything we end up making, even if it goes to hell in a handbasket.

Thanks for reading.

Entry filed under: Growing Up. Tags: , .

Recipe – Vanilla Bean Ice Cream and Drunken Strawberries Recipe – Spicy Rosemary Shrimp

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chet  |  January 20, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    A friend of mine had a similar issue. She ended up doing some type of fast, and some other diet-related thing, as a way to ‘”reset” her digestive system- it ended up working! She lost an insane amount of weight in the meantime, but it evened out after she was all back to normal.

    Good luck with that! My wife went vegetarian about 4 months ago, with plans to go vegan, so I kind of understand how it is trying to figure new meals out. Although, I guess removing gluten is a little bit harder than just not eating meat 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Amy  |  January 20, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Did you do the biopsy? Or just the blood test? I didn’t get a positive blood test either.

    Reply
  • 3. Daniel Eizans  |  January 20, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    Amy: I had a colonoscopy where they did the biopsy and a blood test. Negative on both. I’m still convinced I’m either allergic or Celiac.

    Chet: I don’t think I’ll ever give up meat. My wife is a pretty hardcore no pork, red meat type of lady, so cooking will be a challenge at times. Either way, I’m excited about the challenges ahead. I owe Vita a huge pat on the back for the push.

    Reply
  • 4. Kelley  |  January 22, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    I’m excited for you Dan. Let me know if you need any tips, help, or support! Mad props to Vita for being supportive – that REALLY helps!

    Also, since I’m also gluten-free with negative blood and biopsies, I thought I should mention….if you really do think you have a gluten allergy then you really should completely eliminate gluten for at least 6 months (some suggest even longer). By doing this you will allow your digestive system to heal from the repeated gluten “attacks” that are what make you feel icky.

    After you’re “clean” dietitians and docs suggest that you can slowly and carefully try to integrate a few things back in (sadly I’m not saying go for the baguettes! but maybe a single regular beer)…I’m going to try a bowl of oatmeal this month 🙂 I’ve done ok with cookies so I’m optimistic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

