Recipe – Creamy Chicken Florentine Soup

February 1, 2009 at 4:04 pm 4 comments

For the past two weeks Vita has been pining over a soup they serve in the Detroit Medical Center’s Sinai Grace cafeteria. So, when I launched Souper Sunday last week, I knew it wouldn’t be long before I’d be forced to come up with a version of Chicken Florentine Soup. The most important thing for Vita was that it be creamy, but the most important thing in my eyes was that it wasn’t overpoweringly flavored by just chicken stock. I think we came up with something pretty tasty, even if it wasn’t as creamy as Vita was hoping for.

Creamy Chicken Florentine Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cups Chicken Stock
  • 1/2 Onion Diced
  • 1 Cup Chopped Fresh Spinach
  • 1/2 teaspoon Kosher Salt
  • 1/4 Tablespoon Pepper
  • 1 Bay Leaf
  • 3 Heaping Tablespoons Cornstarch
  • 1/2 Cup Finely Chopped Red Bell Pepper
  • 3 Cups chicken meat, cut into 3/4-inch pieces
  • 1/2 Tablespoon Curry Powder
  • 1 Cup of Half and Half

Spinach, Red Bell Pepper and Yellow Onion

Preparation:

1. In a large stock pot, bring stock to a slow boil; simmer until reduced by 1/3.
2. Dilute cornstarch in 1/4 cup water, add to stock and stir until it thickens.
3. Reduce stock to a simmer. Add spinach, bell pepper and chicken meat.
4. Add curry powder to taste. Check for flavor and add additional salt and pepper if needed. Add heavy cream, heat for a few more minutes and serve.
Makes 8 cups

Really simple and really tasty. It’s nice and light but still has some nice creaminess.

Entry filed under: Our Recipes, Souper Sunday. Tags: , , , , , .

Recipe – Gluten Free Pasta in Portobello Mushroom Cream Sauce Recipe – Grilled Chicken With Spinach Pesto

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Trase  |  February 4, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    It sounds delish! One suggestion I might make for increasing the creaminess – try making a roux from flour and butter to replace the cornstarch.

    As far as proportions, I usually use 1 tablespoon of butter to 1/3 cup of flour per 2 cups of liquid. I think you would probably have to adjust that formula to your particular recipe, though. 🙂 One of my favorite things is to melt the butter, add any chopped onion I’m using in the recipe and let the onions get soft, then add the flour in. Once it’s pasted up nicely, use a whisk to stir in the half and half gradually and then the chicken broth. It makes a really nice creamy base in my experience. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Daniel Eizans  |  February 4, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    Thanks for the tip Trase. I love rouxs. I use them a lot when I’m starting gravy for beef dishes. I didn’t think to use it in the soup recipe. I try to stay away from the dairy as much as possible for Vita’s sake, but since this had cream already, a little extra butter won’t hurt. I’ll give it a shot next time. Perhaps that’s how the DMC does it :).

    Also, I’m sure I could substitute the gluten free flour for the wheat stuff. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

    Reply
  • […] in for a longer day, I’d have none of that tonight. Since I had leftover fresh spinach from Souper Sunday’s Creamy Chicken Florentine, I opted for a twist on a traditional Basil and Pine Nut […]

    Reply
  • 4. Rebecca  |  March 22, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    This looks delicious and so comforting! I’ll have to give it a try while it’s still “soup weather”. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

